Why vegetarian?

Why not? 🙂

Well, to be serious and frank. I don’t see the need to eat meet. I don’t need it for nutrition. It’s expensive (at least here, it’s cheaper with fruit, vegetables etc). Andmostly, to me, it’s about ethical reaons – I don’t want to eat anything that had to suffer for me to have meat on my plate. Even if animals aren’t on the same intellectual level as you an me, they still feel the same kind of pain and anxiety. And if I can get the same nutritional value from other types of food – then why continue supporting the meat industry? Animals who were bread specifically for humans to eat, and that were never able to live a natural life or even to see the sunlight – it’s not a good or dignified life.

I’m not perfect in any way. I still eat eggs and dairy products, which also causes suffering for animals and is not something I’m too happy about. But one has to start somewhere.

And the kids? They eat mainly vegetarian with me at home, but eats the same food (yes meat and fish too) as everyone else in school, daycare, when the are out etc. Once they are old enough, they will make that decision on their own, when it comes to their food habits.

I could go on about this, because it’s something I feel strongly about. But I won’t. Use google and learn for yourselves, if you are interested.

Au revoir for now 🙂

About Jessica Sundling

I'm Jessica from Sweden. Born in the very hot (according to my then heavily pregnant mother) summer of 1981. Mother of two daughters, B (born in July 2006) and M (born in March 2008). Dog & cat owner, vegetarian and a liberal, both politically and socially. Writer, translator and student. The past's been difficult at times but the future is unwritten. Dream of living in the countryside, where I can grow my own food. Don't worry, I won't bite. At least not very hard.
This entry was posted in Food, Kids, Opinions, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

